The Newark (N.J.) Garden Club's Civic Project of the House of Prayer Episcopal Church and Rectory scrapbook
Scope and Contents
1 scrapbook contains photographs, planting lists, correspondence, newspaper clippings, etc., relating to the Project.
- 1962 - 1963
- Newark Garden Club (Organization)
Conditions Governing Use
Researchers wishing to publish, reproduce, or reprint materials from this collection must obtain permission. Photocopying of materials is limited and no materials may be photocopied without permission from library staff.
Biographical / Historical
The Newark Garden Club chose for its 1962-1963 Civic Project the rehabilitation and beautification of the grounds of the House of Prayer Episcopal Church and the Rectory located at 411 Broad Street, Newark, N.J. The Club felt that this project would be its contribution to the observance of New Jersey's Tercentennary in 1964, as well as the City of Newark's Tercentennial in 1966. The rectory is Newark's oldest building, a historic landmark, rich in Revolutionary legend, and beautiful colonial craftsmanship. Built 250 years ago in 1710 by the Plume family as its homestead, the building has since 1850 been the rectory of the House of Prayer. The Church, a gem of ecclesiastical architecture, was completed in 1850.
Language of Materials
- No finding aid, text from catalog entry
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Code for undetermined script
Part of the Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center, Newark Public Library Repository
Newark Public Library
5 Washington St.
Newark NJ 07102 United States